
 

 

Office of Legislative 

Research 

Research  

Report 
  

 

Phone (860) 240-8400 
http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr 
olr@cga.ct.gov 

 

Connecticut General Assembly 

Office of Legislative Research 
Sandra Norman-Eady, Director 

Room 5300 
Legislative Office Building 
Hartford, CT 06106-1591 

 

ACTS AFFECTING TRANSPORTATION 

  

 

 

 

 

 

2014-R-0156 

Heather Poole, Legislative Analyst I  

June 11, 2014

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr


June 11, 2014 Page 2 of 15 2014-R-0156 
 

NOTICE TO READERS 

This report provides highlights of new laws (public acts) affecting transportation 

enacted during the 2014 legislative session. In each summary, we indicate the 

public act (PA) number. 

Not all provisions of the acts are included here. Complete summaries of all 2014 

public acts are available on OLR’s webpage: http://cga.ct.gov/olr/olrpasums.asp 

Readers are encouraged to obtain the full texts of acts that interest them from the 

Connecticut State Library, the House Clerk’s Office, or the General Assembly’s 

website: http://www.cga.ct.gov. 

http://cga.ct.gov/olr/olrpasums.asp
http://www.cga.ct.gov/
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AVIATION 

Connecticut Airport Authority 

(CAA) Advisory Committee 

This act requires the CAA executive 

director to establish an advisory 

committee of up to six members. The 

director must consult with the 

committee on matters relating to 

Bradley International Airport and 

business related to it. The committee 

must include two legislative appointees, 

one each appointed by the 

Transportation Committee co-chairs and 

ranking members. The act does not 

specify who will appoint the other four 

members, though presumably these 

appointments will be made by CAA’s 

executive director. The advisory 

committee must include residents of 

and representatives of businesses 

located in the Bradley Development 

Zone (PA 14-199, § 11, effective upon 

passage). 

BOATS AND BOATING 

Abandoned Vessels 

This act replaces existing procedures 

and establishes a new process for 

seizing and disposing of abandoned 

vessels. It generally allows certain 

public or private parties to begin a 

process to take ownership of an 

abandoned vessel. Ownership may 

occur after 45 days if the vessel is not 

claimed by the owner, a lienholder, or a 

person with a security interest. The act 

also makes abandoning a vessel 

punishable by a fine of between $300 

and $500, unless the abandonment 

occurs during, and because of 

conditions that caused, a declared 

emergency (PA 14-57, effective 

January 1, 2015). 

Certificates of Title for Vessels 

The Uniform Certificate of Title for 

Vessels Act creates a title system for 

certain vessels that are principally used 

on Connecticut waters. It generally 

requires owners to apply to the 

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) for 

a certificate when a vessel’s ownership 

changes or Connecticut becomes a 

vessel’s state of principal use. The act 

does not apply to a number of different 

types of vessels, most notably those (1) 

with a model year of 2016 or earlier, 

(2) less than 19.5 feet long unless they 

are motor boats, or (3) covered by 

federal documentation or a foreign 

country’s registry.  

The act also makes a certificate of 

title prima facie evidence of ownership, 

sets rules for perfecting security 

interests on certificates and indicating 

transfers of interest in vessels, 

establishes penalties for fraudulent acts 

related to certificates, and requires DMV 

to maintain certain information for 

public searches (PA 14-63, effective 

January 1, 2016). 

BONDING FOR 

TRANSPORTATION PROJECTS 

The bond authorization act includes 

up to $28.4 million in special tax 

obligation (STO) bonds in FY 15 for the 

following Department of Transportation 

(DOT) projects: (1) $10 million for the 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=199&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=5309&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=5459&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
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development of a comprehensive asset 

management plan in accordance with 

federal regulations, (2) $5.4 million for 

highway and bridge renewal equipment, 

(3) $10 million for the local bridge 

program, and (4) $3 million to 

reconfigure an existing off ramp on the 

Merritt Parkway in Westport.  

The act also changes certain FY 15 

general obligation (GO) and STO bond 

authorizations enacted in PA 13-239, 

including (1) an increase from $5 

million to $25 million in GO bonds to 

DOT for grants for improvements to 

ports and marinas, including dredging 

and navigational direction; (2) an 

increase from $13.99 million to $20.69 

million in STO bonds to DOT’s Bureau of 

Highway Operations for, among other 

things, environmental compliance, 

hazardous material abatement, salt 

shed construction, and storage tank 

replacement at or near state-owned 

properties or related to DOT operation; 

(3) an increase from $143 million to 

$185.45 million in STO bonds to the 

Bureau of Public Transportation for bus 

and rail facilities and equipment; and 

(4) a change from STO bonds to GO 

bonds for the Town-Aid-Road program, 

which has a bond authorization of up to 

$60 million (PA 14-98, §§ 9, 16-21, 

89, & 94 - 95, effective July 1, 2014). 

DRIVER’S LICENSES  

Medical Qualifications of Drivers 

of Certain Passenger Vehicles 

This act requires DMV to renew a 

noncommercial license with certain 

passenger endorsements (e.g., a taxi or 

livery driver) for an applicant who (1) is 

taking medication to control a medical 

condition that would otherwise 

disqualify him or her from getting such 

a license and (2) would qualify for a 

waiver or exemption under federal 

regulations. A licensed physician must 

certify that the applicant is controlling 

the medical condition (PA 14-130, § 

29, October 1, 2014). 

Organ Donations 

Under this act, DMV must require 

applicants for driver’s licenses or 

identity cards to indicate whether they 

consent or decline to be organ donors. 

Prior law allowed these applicants the 

opportunity to become a donor (PA 14-

130, § 8, effective October 1, 2014). 

Waivers for Veterans and Armed 

Forces and National Guard 

Members 

A new law requires the DMV 

commissioner to waive all, instead of 

allowing her to waive part of, 

examinations for motor vehicle licenses, 

except the driving skills test for 

commercial driver’s licenses (CDL), for 

veterans who (1) apply within two years 

after their military discharge and (2) 

before military discharge, held a 

military operator’s license to drive the 

same class of vehicles allowed under 

their prospective license. DMV must do 

the same for an armed forces or 

National Guard member who holds a 

military operator’s license. 

The DMV commissioner may also 

waive the commercial motor vehicle 

driving skills test if an applicant meets 

conditions set by federal regulations. If 

http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=98&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=98&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=5290&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=5290&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=5290&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=5290&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
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he or she meets these conditions, the 

commissioner may substitute the 

applicant’s driving record in combination 

with certain driving experience for the 

driver’s test. The applicant must hold a 

military commercial vehicle license 

when applying for the state license (PA 

14-131 §§ 2 & 3, effective October 1, 

2014). 

DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE 

(DUI) 

License Suspensions and 

Ignition Interlocks 

Existing law requires an 

administrative license suspension 

process for drivers who refuse to submit 

to a blood alcohol content (BAC) test or 

whose test results indicate an elevated 

BAC (.08% or more). Under prior law, 

these suspensions ranged from 90 days 

to six months, depending on test results 

or refusal, for first offenders. This act 

reduces the administrative license 

suspension to 45 days for all drivers 

whose test results indicate an elevated 

BAC or who refuse to submit to a test, 

but imposes ignition interlock device 

(IID) requirements after the suspension 

ends. An IID requires the driver to 

breathe into it to operate the vehicle 

and prevents the vehicle from starting if 

it detects a BAC above a certain 

threshold.  

Any person who does not use the IID 

as required is subject to a license 

suspension until the person 

demonstrates to the commissioner’s 

satisfaction that he or she intends to 

install and maintain the IID as required.  

It also eliminates a provision that 

prohibited DMV from issuing a special 

operator’s permit (which allows a driver 

with a suspended license to drive to 

work or school) to a person whose 

license was suspended for refusing to 

submit to a test until such person has 

served a 90-day suspension. Under the 

act, the DMV commissioner may, for 

license suspension and IID purposes, 

consider out-of-state DUI convictions as 

second or subsequent convictions if a 

person was convicted of DUI in 

Connecticut or another state in the 

previous 10 years (PA 14-228, 

effective July 1, 2015). 

GARAGES 

Liens by Garage Owners 

By law, someone whose vehicle is in 

the custody of a person who holds a lien 

on it (e.g., a garage owner whose 

garage has repaired it) may apply in 

writing to Superior Court to dissolve the 

lien (and recover the vehicle) if the 

vehicle owner substitutes a surety bond 

for the vehicle. The act requires a 

garage owner to immediately notify 

DMV if a vehicle owner has not applied 

for dissolution within 30 days after a 

garage’s work on the vehicle is 

completed. It also allows a garage 

owner to charge for 30 days’ storage of 

the vehicle after completing the repairs, 

but the commissioner may limit the 

number of storage days for which a 

garage may charge after the 30-day 

period expires (PA 14-130, § 27, July 

1, 2014). 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=5299&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=5299&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=465&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=5290&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
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HIGHWAY SAFETY 

Chemical Road Treatment Study 

Under this act, the Department of 

Transportation (DOT) must study 

chemical road treatments, including (1) 

analyzing the corrosive effects of road 

treatments on state snow and ice 

equipment, state infrastructure, and the 

environment; (2) determining the cost 

of corrosion created by road 

treatments; and (3) evaluating 

alternative techniques and products. 

The final report is due July 1, 2015 (PA 

14-199, § 6, effective upon passage). 

Conforming State Motor Vehicle 

Law to Federal Law 

This act eliminates provisions in 

several motor vehicle laws that require 

the DMV commissioner to adopt safety 

standards by regulation, and instead 

requires people to operate vehicles with 

equipment that meets federal safety 

standards. Specifically, it requires the 

following to meet federal safety 

standards instead of DMV regulation: 

(1) braking systems in vehicles with a 

gross weight of over 10,000 pounds, (2) 

tires on motor vehicles and trailers, and 

(3) motorcycle helmets for motorcycle 

operators and passengers under the age 

of 18 (PA 14-187, effective July 1, 

2014). 

Fines for Harming a Vulnerable 

User of a Public Way 

This act creates a separate violation 

for a motorist travelling on a road who 

fails to exercise reasonable care and 

seriously injures or causes the death of 

a vulnerable user (e.g., pedestrians, 

highway workers, cyclists), provided 

that the vulnerable user was exercising 

reasonable care in using the road. Any 

motorist who commits such a violation 

must be fined up to $1,000 (PA 14-31, 

effective October 1, 2014). 

Statute of Limitations for 

Prosecuting a Motor Vehicle 

Violation That Results in Death 

This act eliminates the statute of 

limitations for prosecuting motor vehicle 

violations and offenses involving 

another’s death when the offender 

causes the death while operating a 

motor vehicle and flees the scene (PA 

14-185, effective October 1, 2014). 

MOTOR VEHICLE DEALERS AND 

REPAIRERS 

Guaranteed Motor Vehicles 

The act requires that, for the sale of 

guaranteed motor vehicles, the order 

and invoice include the phrase “this 

motor vehicle is guaranteed” followed 

by the guarantee’s terms. This act 

requires that these terms include the 

(1) duration of the guarantee or (2) 

number of miles the guarantee remains 

in effect (PA 14-187, effective July 1, 

2014). 

Inspections of Emergency 

Medical Services (EMS) Vehicles 

The act allows inspections of EMS 

vehicles to be performed by state or 

municipal employees or DMV-licensed 

motor vehicle repairers or dealers who 

are qualified under federal regulations. 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=199&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=199&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=5049&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=31&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=5592&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=5592&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=5049&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
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Prior law required the Department of 

Public Health to conduct these 

inspections. The act specifies that these 

inspections must be conducted in 

accordance with federal regulations. It 

also requires a record of each inspection 

to be made according to such 

regulations (PA 14-231, effective 

October 1, 2014). 

Refusing to Issue or Renew a 

Dealer or Repairer License 

Because of Delinquent Sales 

Taxes 

This act prohibits DMV, after notice 

and a hearing, from granting or 

renewing a motor vehicle dealer or 

repairer license to a licensee or 

applicant the Department of Revenue 

Services (DRS) reports is delinquent in 

paying sales taxes (PA 14-130, § 15, 

effective July 1, 2014). 

Restricting the Use of Dealer and 

Repairer Surety Bonds 

By law, new and used car dealers, 

repairers, and certain motor vehicle 

rental firms must furnish a cash or 

surety bond as indemnity against any 

loss incurred because they (1) 

committed an act that constitutes 

grounds for license suspension or 

revocation or (2) went out of business. 

This act restricts the use of these bonds 

to losses incurred by a dealer’s, 

repairer’s, or rental firm’s customers, 

rather than anyone so injured by the 

dealer, repairer, or rental firm. It 

explicitly excludes from those entitled to 

such indemnification any (1) person, 

firm, or corporation that finances a 

licensed dealer’s motor vehicle 

inventory and (2) licensed dealer who, 

in his or her capacity as a dealer, buys 

motor vehicles from, or sells motor 

vehicles to, another licensed dealer (PA 

14-130, § 14, effective July 1, 2014). 

Sales Orders and Invoices to 

Include Dealer Information 

Under this act, sales orders and 

invoices for the sale of motor vehicles 

must include the dealer’s legal name, 

address, and license number, in 

addition to other information the law 

already requires (PA 14-130, § 17, 

effective July 1, 2014). 

Same-Day Production of Dealer 

and Repairer Records 

This act allows motor vehicle 

repairers to keep their records 

electronically, as the law already allows 

licensed motor vehicle dealers to do. It 

requires dealers and repairers that store 

records electronically to produce such 

records at DMV’s request on the same 

business day DMV requests them. Prior 

law allowed dealers three days to 

produce such records (PA 14-130, § 

16, effective July 1, 2014). 

MOVING COMPANIES 

This new law adds an applicant’s 

criminal history and financial stability to 

the factors DOT must consider when 

deciding whether to issue a certificate of 

public convenience and necessity 

allowing the applicant to operate a 

moving company. It eliminates, as such 

a factor, the public need for the service 

(PA 14-68, effective July 1, 2014). 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=231&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=5290&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=5290&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=5290&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=5290&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=5290&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=5290&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=34&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
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PUBLIC TRANSIT 

Expanding Police Reporting 

Requirements 

This law requires police to report to 

DMV, within 48 hours, the arrest on (1) 

felony charges or (2) a charge of 

fourth-degree sexual assault of anyone 

whose driver’s license permits him or 

her to transport members of the public, 

including school children (e.g., bus 

driver, taxi driver, or livery service 

driver). Prior law required police to 

report such arrests only for drivers who 

transported school children (PA 14-

130, § 8, effective June 6, 2014). 

Fare Inspectors and Theft of 

Public Bus Services 

This act authorizes fare inspectors to 

(1) inspect documents that prove an 

individual has paid the appropriate bus 

fare and (2) issue citations to someone 

who deliberately rides a state-owned or 

controlled public bus without paying. 

Under prior law, intentionally obtaining 

any bus service without payment was 

considered larceny and was punishable 

by fines and imprisonment. For state-

owned and controlled buses, this act 

reduces the offense to an infraction, for 

which the penalty is a fine, usually set 

by Superior Court judges, of $35 to $90 

plus surcharges and payable by mail 

(PA 14-199, §§ 1 - 4, effective 

October 1, 2014). 

Hartford-New Britain Busway 

This act requires the DOT 

commissioner, in implementing the 

Hartford-New Britain busway, to ensure 

that all Hartford streets intersecting 

with the busway are equipped with 

sufficient signage, gates, traffic lights, 

and other equipment in order to (1) 

keep such streets open to vehicles and 

pedestrians for at least 20 hours per 

day and (2) allow trains to safely cross 

the streets at any time (PA 14-98, § 

31 & 96, effective July 1, 2014). 

RAILROADS 

Commercial Rail Freight Line 

Competitive Grants 

This act increases by $10 million, 

from $7.5 million to $17.5 million, the 

existing bond authorization for DOT’s 

commercial rail freight line competitive 

grant program. It also expands the 

range of eligible projects for which the 

DOT commissioner must give 

preference to include those (1) 

furthering DOT’s Connecticut State Rail 

Plan goals and objectives and (2) 

increasing the capacity of the state’s 

freight rail infrastructure (PA 14-98, § 

98, effective July 1, 2014). 

Wayside Horns 

This act allows for a wayside horn (a 

stationary horn located at an at-grade 

railroad crossing) to be used at an at-

grade crossing instead of a horn 

attached to a train, provided that the 

crossing is equipped with an active 

warning system that includes lights and 

gates (PA 14-199, § 17, effective upon 

passage). 

http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=5290&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=5290&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=199&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=98&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
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SCHOOL BUSES AND STUDENT 

TRANSPORTATION VEHICLES 

(STV) 

Assigning DMV Inspectors to 

Inspect School Buses 

Under this new act, the DMV 

commissioner must assign as many 

motor vehicle inspectors as she finds 

necessary to (1) inspect school buses 

and STVs, (2) investigate (a) accidents 

involving these vehicles and (b) 

complaints against school bus and STV 

owners and drivers, and (3) coordinate 

various school bus safety programs (PA 

14-130, § 26, effective June 6, 2014). 

Removing “Carrying School 

Children” Signs Optional  

This act allows, but does not require, 

STVs or other vehicles to remove 

“carrying school children” signs when 

such vehicle is not being used to 

transport school children (PA 14-130, 

§ 28, July 1, 2014). 

SHIPPING 

Connecticut Port Authority 

A new act creates a Connecticut Port 

Authority to coordinate the 

development and marketing of state 

ports, including the three deep water 

ports of Bridgeport, New Haven, and 

New London. At the same time, it 

creates a Port Authority Working Group 

to make recommendations to the 

Department of Economic and 

Community Development (DECD) on 

the port authority’s powers and duties. 

It requires the DECD commissioner, 

after consulting with specified agencies, 

and within available appropriations, to 

(1) develop a plan to move the 

Connecticut Maritime Commission and 

DOT’s maritime functions to the 

authority and (2) review and make 

recommendations for state policies 

affecting the ports (PA 14-222, 

effective upon passage, except the 

provisions on the port authority are 

effective October 1, 2015). 

TAXIS AND LIVERY VEHICLES 

Background Checks for 

Interstate Livery Companies 

By law, any person, limited liability 

company, or corporation authorized by 

the Federal Highway Administration to 

operate a motor vehicle for charter and 

special operation must register with 

DOT for interstate operation.  

This act requires such operators to 

undergo a state and national criminal 

history records check and provide the 

results to DOT prior to registration (PA 

14-199, § 16, effective upon passage). 

Study of Mobile Apps for Taxi 

and Livery Service 

DOT is required under this act to 

study the regulation of for-hire 

transportation services, including a 

review of how emerging technologies 

(e.g., mobile applications like Uber and 

Lyft) fit into the regulatory scheme. 

DOT’s final report is due February 1, 

2015 (PA 14-199, § 19, effective upon 

passage). 
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Taxis Cannot Be More Than 10 

Years Old 

This law bars DMV from registering a 

motor vehicle as a taxi if it is more than 

10 model years old. Any validly 

registered taxi that is older than 10 

model years old during its registration 

period may continue as a taxi until its 

two-year registration expires (PA 14-

130, §1, effective June 6, 2014). 

TRANSPORTATION OF GOODS 

AND MATERIALS 

Fracking Waste 

This act establishes at least a three-

year moratorium on, among other 

things, the transfer of hydraulic 

fracturing (“fracking”) waste between 

vehicles or modes of transportation and 

the sale, manufacture, and distribution 

of deicing and dust suppression 

products derived from or containing 

these wastes until the Department of 

Energy and Environmental Protection 

(DEEP) adopts regulations and certain 

licensing and information disclosure 

requirements. DEEP is required to 

submit these regulations to the 

Regulations Review Committee between 

June 30, 2017 and July 1, 2018 (PA 

14-200, effective July 1, 2014). 

Seeds 

By law, no person may transport for 

sale within Connecticut any agricultural 

or vegetable seed unless (1) a 

germination test was performed and (2) 

it meets certain labeling, purity, and 

weed-seed requirements. This act 

extends these restrictions to flower seed 

and tree or shrub seeds (PA 14-223, § 

3, effective October 1, 2014). 

TRUCKS AND TRUCKING 

CDL Driver History and CDL 

Partial-Year Fee 

This act eliminates (1) a requirement 

that a person seeking a first renewal of 

a CDL provide DMV with the names of 

the states in which he or she has held a 

driver’s license and (2) the partial-year 

fee for CDLs (PA 14-130, § 12, 

October 1, 2014). 

Commercial Driver’s Instruction 

Permit Requirements 

This new act prohibits DMV from 

administering a CDL road test unless an 

applicant has held a commercial driver’s 

instruction permit for at least 14 days. 

It requires a holder of such permit who 

did not obtain a CDL before his or her 

permit expired to retake (1) the CDL 

written test and (2) any applicable 

license endorsement written tests (PA 

14-130, §10 effective July 1, 2015). 

Conforming State CDL Law on 

Fraud to Federal Regulations 

The act conforms state law to federal 

CDL regulations regarding fraud and 

false information by requiring DMV to 

deny, or disqualify for 60 days, a CDL or 

CDL instruction permit if it finds the 

holder gave false information on any 

certification he or she provided 

concerning the permit or license 

application. It also specifies a process 
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for notifying and retesting an individual 

that DMV suspects of fraud (PA 14-

130, § 11, effective October 1, 2014). 

WRECKERS AND TOWING 

New Requirements for Police and 

Garages on Vehicles Towed from 

Private Property 

This act requires the police, within 

48 hours of receiving notice from a 

wrecker that towed a motor vehicle 

from private property, to determine if 

the vehicle was stolen. It also requires 

the wrecker or storage garage owner to 

notify the vehicle’s owner and lien 

holders of the tow by certified mail. Also 

under the act, garage and/or wrecker 

owners have more flexibility in 

obtaining liens, allowing them to obtain 

liens for their towing charges, storage 

charges, or both (PA 14-130, §§ 21-

22, effective July 1, 2014). 

Requiring Additional Information 

on Tows 

This new act requires a wrecker 

owner to (1) record the registration 

number of each wrecker used to tow or 

transport a vehicle and (2) note the 

wrecker’s mileage at the start and end 

of the tow, rather than the total miles 

traveled during the tow. It also requires 

dealers that operate a wrecking service 

to produce records on the same 

business day DMV asks for them (PA 

14-130, § 19, effective October 1, 

2014). 

MISCELLANEOUS 

Brewery, Winery, and 

Agricultural Highway Signs 

Under this act, signs bearing 

directions to farms and facilities related 

to agricultural tourism, Connecticut-

made wine, and Connecticut-made beer 

may be erected and maintained within 

300 feet of state highways with DOT’s 

approval (PA 14-199, §§ 12-14, 

effective upon passage). 

DMV’s Delinquent Property Tax 

Enforcement Program 

By law, DMV is required to 

administer a program that prevents 

individuals with delinquent motor 

vehicle or snowmobile property taxes 

from registering a motor vehicle, 

snowmobile, all-terrain vehicle, or 

vessel. Prior law required municipalities 

participating in this program to (1) 

notify DMV when a taxpayer was 

delinquent on his or her motor vehicle 

or snowmobile property taxes and (2) 

pay annually their proportionate share, 

based on population, of the cost to 

administer the program. The act 

eliminates the requirement that 

municipalities pay for this program, and 

requires municipalities to notify DMV 

monthly of delinquent property taxes 

(PA 14-19, effective May 5, 2014). 

Eliminating Certain 

Requirements for New Driving 

License Instructors 

This new act eliminates the 

requirement that licensed driving 

instructors, in the three years after 
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getting their initial license, either (1) 

attend annual DMV-sponsored traffic 

safety seminars or (2) take a DMV-

approved 45-hour instructor traffic 

safety course (PA 14-130, § 20, 

effective July 1, 2014). 

Issuing Information on Motor 

Fuels Tax on Gaseous Fuels 

This act requires the DRS 

commissioner to annually issue 

information about how he calculates the 

motor vehicle fuels tax on gaseous fuel 

(e.g., natural gas or propane). He must 

also include information on the 

conversion factor used to determine the 

liquid gallon equivalent, which must be 

consistent with applicable federal 

standards (PA 14-155, effective upon 

passage). 

Study of Access to Rentschler 

Field 

Under this act, DOT is required to 

study challenges to enter and exit 

Rentschler Field in East Hartford that 

may result from the state-certified 

industrial reinvestment project at Pratt 

and Whitney headquarters authorized in 

the Aerospace Reinvestment Act (PA 

14-2). The final report is due January 

1, 2015 (PA 14-199, § 18, effective 

upon passage). 

Title Not Required for Vehicles 

More Than 20 Years Old 

This act exempts owners of motor 

vehicles more than 20 model years old 

from the need to get a title certificate 

and allows, but does not require, the 

DMV commissioner to issue title 

certificates for these vehicles (PA 14-

130, § 24, October 1, 2014). 

 

HP:am 

http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=5290&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=5466&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=2&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=13&SUBMIT1.y=12
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=2&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=13&SUBMIT1.y=12
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=199&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=5290&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=5290&which_year=2014&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0&SUBMIT1=Normal

